RunLoLoPoCertWaWeMo

My April blogging logo

April 1 starts another NaBloPoMo, or National Blog Posting Month, in which bloggers challenge themselves to post daily, according to a given theme.  I know that I am the last neophyte blogger to find out about this, but it made me giggle that I couldn’t quickly find the exact definition of ‘NaBloPoMo’ from the BlogHer NaBloPoMo site.  Clearly, I am still way too new at this blogging thing to be anyone’s target blogging audience.  So, as usual, I just had to google it to find out what it stood for.

I am usually more motivated by external demands, so the challenge of writing a blog post every day for the month of April, with the theme of GROW, really appealed to me.  I think it’s a super cool idea.  But I can’t forget that it’s still challenging for me to crank out one blog post a week, so I think that believing that I can come up with seven posts a week is a bit, uh, overambitious, even for a wannabe-overachiever like me.

I told Gary that I was tempted to jump on the NaBloPoMo bandwagon, but he reminded me that I had plenty of other things to do that would be a better outlet for my overachievement urges.  And he was right.  Of course, his list was somewhat different than mine.  For example, my list did not include thatching the lawn or cleaning up our Contacts list.

So for me, April is:

RunLoLoPoCertWaWeMo: 
Run Long Lose Pounds Get Certified Watch Webinars Month

Just for fun I tried to google that mess and, not surprisingly, got nothing back.  Only time I’ve ever googled something and not gotten ANY returns.  I guess I am the first person to coin this term, so I officially claim it as my own.

Sounds like something you wouldn’t want to order at a Chinese restaurant.  Would you like steamed or fried rice with that?

Let’s break this down…

34330413-splash-shoe-print

RunLo – Run Long:  Yeah, I’d better start running some distance if I think I’m going to survive the Great Potato Half Marathon (another goofy cartoon potato t-shirt, oh yay) on May 30, the 62-mile Sawtooth Relay from Stanley to Ketchum on June 13, and the inaugural Freakin’ Fast Half Marathon (all downhill, ouch) on July 18.  What the hell was I thinking.  Today, we’ve got to lace up, take our anti-inflammatories, and run five miles for the first time in a while.

And then take a nap.

white-plate-with-weight-scale

(140, I wish…)

LoPo – Lose Pounds:  Running long with ten (or so…yikes) extra pounds makes it all so much more miserable.  On April Fool’s Day, I faced the Evil Scale, and then decided to get serious.  A year ago, I was just where I wanted to be.  Now I am back where I was before that.  I’m not terribly smart.  It’s tough being a hedonist who is happier when she’s thinner.  Inner conflict – it’s just who I am.

Half-full-half-empty glass

Cert – Get Certified:  While I am already certifiable, I have let my project management certification lapse and I have until mid-August to get my CEUs done.  Bleccch.  The only thing worse than this would be having to take the PMI certification test again; I would prefer giving myself a root canal with an ice pick.

A month ago, I purchased 22 hours of online training which I have to take within three months.  While this doesn’t exactly sound like an insurmountable task (especially for a retired person, for heaven’s sake), I have only taken 6 hours of it so far.

I signed up for the “soft skills” communication stuff and while it’s boring and irritating, I have learned a few things.  For example, there actually is a “glass-half-full” and a “glass-half-empty” meta-program, which is a fancy term for describing how our personal brain wiring works.  I’m one and Gary is the other.  You probably can figure out who is who.  Guess I’d better get this training done; my marriage might even benefit (see, that’s the glass-half-full girl talking).

metallic-headphones-illustration

Watch Webinars:  While I’m only scratching the surface of this webinar stuff, it still amazes me how much time you can spend watching/listening to webinars for free.  Yeah, I get the whole interstellar marketing thing, but still.  It’s pretty cool.  I don’t know how many of these I’ll listen to before I get bored but this week, I am going to tune into several:

  • The Truth About Cancer: An 11-day docu-series from March 30-April 9. These guys make some pretty big claims about preventing and treating cancer 100% naturally. There could be something of value in these 11 sessions, I hope. And probably some pretty out-there stuff too. https://www.facebook.com/thetruthaboutcancer
  • Epigenetics Week with Matt Riemann and others: I had no idea what epigenetics is, did you?   According to dictionary.com, it’s “the study of the process by which genetic information is translated into the substance and behavior of an organism: specifically, the study of the way in which the expression of heritable traits is modified by environmental influences or other mechanisms without a change to the DNA sequence.” In a nutshell, it has to do with the environmental things that make your genes go wonky and create all kinds of bad diseases.  If you want a more technical take on it, here is Matt’s website: http://mattriemann.com/

So, even though I am not participating in NaBloPoMo, I appear to be following the theme of GROW, and maybe that’s the whole point anyway. By the end of April, I will be back up to running 9 miles, have planted most of the garden, stop growing into a larger jean size, end my lengthy procrastination about my certification, and hopefully grow in my knowledge of how to take more control of my personal health.  Not bad for just one month…who’s with me?

daisy with roots - thumbnail

In truth, all of this self-help mania was inspired by my good friend, Rocky, who passed away a few weeks ago from long-term complications of throat cancer (think Michael Douglas with much poorer medical care).  My runway is getting shorter — time to make some changes.  Having been cancer-free for five years, I do not count my blessings lightly.

No matter how bad things got, Rocky never stopped writing down his goals and striving to regain his health…and neither should I.  Gotta keep showing up.

Thanks for reading.  I know how busy you are.

 

 

7 thoughts on “RunLoLoPoCertWaWeMo

  1. Love it! Upward mobility! Continuing to grow (my chin hair so I can braid it).
    Thanks for posting. You know how busy you are! 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

